Lesson 1 – Use Your Talents

I’ve been a writer since as far back as I can remember.

When I was a little girl, I’d set up my fake classroom – chalk board, homework, stuffed animal pupils and all – and I’d start writing. Writing on the board, writing in workbooks, writing on pieces of paper…

I first published a piece of poetry when I was 12 years old. I was published in a short book of poetry and  thought I was a really big deal.

One thing my mother always taught me was that I could be anything I wanted to be and I could accomplish anything I wanted to accomplish if I learned how to hone in on my God-given talents and if I was willing to work hard enough. Often the person who “makes it” isn’t the one with the most skill, but rather the one with the most will. My mother celebrated the short stories I wrote as a child and the poetry I scribbled in notebooks. She cherished that first published poem just as much as my first published academic journal article, 10 years later.

When my older sister started learning cursive in school, I decided that I should know it too. And so I taught myself cursive. How odd it must have been, watching a 7 year old sitting in her bedroom, slowly and intently tracing the beautiful curves of letters in motion. I felt like penmanship was its own form of poetry. I fell in love with the artistry of letters strung together to form words. It made more sense to me that each letter should connect to the next, married to each other to form a solid word.

Writing poetry and starting to sing naturally led poetry into music. So it was no surprise to my mother when I started writing songs. Teaching myself piano chords and strumming the guitar I begged her to buy for me.

To me, writing has always been a type of release; A beautiful expression of one’s soul – those innermost thoughts and desires and hopes and dreams, written on scraps of paper or iPhone notepads, under the dancing notes on a sheet of music, published journals, or typed under my fingers on a WordPress blog.

I’ve always been enchanted by words on a page. I’ve been reading since I was 3 years old. As a child, I loved the way a story could transport me to another place and time. As an adult, I’m still in awe of writers who can eloquently weave a story, whether it be fictional or true. Writing is the timeline of humanity. A mentor once told me, “The two things that will have the greatest impact on your life are the people you meet and the books you read.” I think there’s a lot of truth to that.

And so here I am… Using the talents my mother always encouraged me to use. Sharing her lessons. Sharing my stories. And sharing the foundation behind it all.

“Use whatever gifts you have received to serve others…” 1 Peter 4:10

I hope you all enjoy reading about this journey as much as I enjoy living it.

D

 

My right hand chick
My right hand chick
One thought on “Lesson 1 – Use Your Talents”

Leave a Reply

