A Lesson Carved From Marble

On my second full day in Paris, I spent the afternoon wandering the gardens of my favorite museum: Musée Rodin. I fell in love with Rodin in an art history course in college. There’s something about the hands Rodin sculpted that has always drawn me in… Broad, strong, expressive hands that seem to tell a story.

My mom’s cousin was a sculptor in San Francisco. I remember her telling me that where we might see a slab of imperfect formless stone, a sculptor sees a masterpiece waiting to be released. They see a vision of what could be, and chip away everything else.

What if we saw ourselves this way? What if we saw each other this way? It takes a certain level of creativity to make something from nothing; It takes another whole level of vision to see the beauty in something yet to be revealed.

Instead of just spending a lifetime BECOMING something great, what if we also UNbecame all the things that weigh us down. Being called TOWARD something also means being called AWAY from something else.

Toward abundance & away from scarcity.

Toward reflection & away from reaction.

Toward forgiveness & away from bitterness.

Toward hope & away from doubt.

Toward love & away from indifference.

Ask for the vision to be revealed, and chip away at everything else.

“But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus...”

Phil 3:13-14

Leave a comment